Skip to main content

Zombies!

      I've been seeing a huge rise of zombies in the media. It seems like werewolves tried to upstage the vampire trend, but zombies ate both of them. What is it that mainstream culture loves about these creatures? Is it the post-apocalyptic settings, the gore of it all, or are those lovable rotting faces just too adorable? Everywhere I look, there are zombie books, movies, TV shows, and mass produced merchandise. Even the CDC did a post on emergency preparedness citing the zombie apocalypse as an example.(here's the link) There have even been zombie walks, where people dress as zombies and parade through the streets. I have personally attended a local zombie walk, and it was great fun!
My best friend Justean hugging the "free hugs" zombie
The first zombie movie
Zombies are not a new thing. (The Zombie had it's origin in Haitian culture). So why is it just now that Zombies have especially been on the rise?
     I think there could be a couple reasons. Scientific advances and the threat of another nuclear disaster may be one reason. If it is possible to extend lives or cause deformities in children thanks to radiation, is it possible for an accident to create zombies or zombie-like creatures? Perhaps People wanted to substitute sparkly vegetarian vampires for a tougher image like zombies. Yes, werewolves may also appear to be tougher, but the Twilight ones were just too polished and baby-faced. :P With zombies, there is no mercy. There is no empathy, only instinct.
     Zombies are such adaptable beings. There are no set rules like with vampires (which is why the sparkly ones were a terrible idea). There can be Voodoo zombies, disease zombies, semi-intelligent ones, zombies who can use tools, and even lovable servant zombies (Fido).
Fido
writers and directors can really use their imagination to shape this creature into something original. Zombies are everywhere, and it will stay that way even after mainstream culture gets bored. Feel free to comment with any ideas about why zombies are so popular.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Let's talk Goth, Consumerism and #zerowaste

Disclaimer:   I do not claim to be an expert on low waste (or "zero waste") living —far from it . The purpose of this piece is to explore what it means to belong to the Goth subculture in the context of consumerism and making sustainable choices. There are many ways to live sustainably, but this piece will focus on reducing waste. This piece does not seek to shame or blame anyone but rather to challenge throw-away attitudes that dominate our world—and the modern Goth subculture—by offering another perspective. Respectful discussion in the comment section is welcomed.  W hen I hear the words "zero waste," I often think of people making videos to show off three months of trash fitting inside a little mason jar, their magical Whole Foods shopping trip, or even a tour of their impossibly-tiny capsule wardrobe. Search #zerowaste on Pinterest and you'll come up with pictures of tidy little beige pantries with uniform mason jars filled with chia seeds, nutri...

Depeche Mode Concert

Last night, Depeche Mode came to town. After a long week and much time spent looking forward to this, I'm glad to say I was in attendance. Justean and I ventured off to the venue with little incident this time (meaning not getting horribly lost like before). When we arrived, we noticed what a broad spectrum of fans Depeche Mode reached. There were a lot of drunken middle aged people, but besides that, there was a range of alternative types as well as more mainstream looking people. One thing is for sure that most everyone seemed excited to be there. In fact, at one point, I almost got in an altercation with a couple who was so excited, they decided to squeeze right in front of me and cut me off! Let's just say I got them to vacate my vicinity.  It was a great night for a concert. The moon shone brightly, and looming rain clouds dissipated. As for the show itself, Depeche Mode knows how to work a crowd. They sound mostly the same in concert as on their albums. They eve...

DIY Nose Chain

For those of you who've been trying to hunt down a nose chain, you probably know that they're difficult to find. Even online , there isn't a big selection. The ones I've found at a local Indian mall were pretty, but they weren't exactly what I was looking for. I finally decided it would be easier to make my own.  What you need: Any kind of necklace chain (preferably lightweight) Nose ring (you can also make a lip chain if you have a lip ring.) Earring Hook Metal loops (You might be able to find a couple on your necklace) Jewelry pliers (I used regular pliers, but it's a lot more difficult.) How To Make It: Measure out the length you want your nose chain. Using the  pliers, separate the chain to your desired length. Take the piece you need, and attach both ends to  the bigger metal loops. Attach one end to your earring hook and the other end to your nose ring. Make sure the ends are tightened enough where the ...